

## Secretary of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Act 232 of 1939 created the position of Secretary of the House of Representatives. The duties had been transferred from the recently abolished offices of Resident Clerk and Assistant Resident Clerk. These included printing bills and journals, preparing calendars for the Members, and maintaining seat assignments for Members on the House floor.

The last Secretary of the House served in 1980 after the creation of the Bipartisan Management Committee transferred the duties to the offices under the Chief Clerk of the House.

<b>Session Dates</b>	Name	County	Date Elected
1939	William P. Roan	Luzerne	
1941	Dennis J. Mulvihill	Allegheny	1/7/1941
1943-1953	William P. Roan	Luzerne	1/5/1943
1955	Paul C. Moomaw	Franklin	1/4/1955
1957	Wilmer W. Waterhouse	Erie	1/1/1957
1959	Paul C. Moomaw	Franklin	1/6/1959
1961	Philip Lopresti	Cambria	1/3/1961
1963	Wilmer W. Waterhouse	Erie	1/1/1963
1965	Marion L. Munley	Lackawanna	1/5/1965
1967	Reginald P. Stimmel	Lehigh	1/3/1967
1969-1971	Thomas F. Sullivan	Allegheny	1/7/1969
1973	Reginald P. Stimmel	Lehigh	1/2/1973
1975-1977	Thomas F. Sullivan	Allegheny	1/7/1975
1979	Robert M. Scheipe	Schuylkill	1/2/1979