

Parliamentarian of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives

The office of Parliamentarian was established by Act 120 of 1931. At the beginning of each session, the Speaker of the House appoints a Parliamentarian to advise the Speaker on parliamentary procedural and legal questions that arise during House sessions. The Parliamentarian also is responsible to review all filed amendments to ascertain whether there are conflicting amendments, unconstitutional amendments, previously defeated amendments, or other issues which need the Speaker's attention.

Mason's Manual and Jefferson's Manual of Legislative Procedure serve as the parliamentary authority of the House. However, the manuals need to be consistent with the Constitution and laws of Pennsylvania, the rules of the House, as well as the established precedents, customs, and usages of the House.

Session Dates	Name	County	Date Appointed
1931-1964	S. Edward Moore	Cumberland	11/9/1931
1965-1966	Thomas R. Balaban	Cumberland	1/14/1965
1967-1968	S. Edward Moore	Cumberland	1/3/1967
1969-1972	Thomas R. Balaban	Cumberland	1/16/1969
1973-1974	W.H. Clay Keen	Cumberland	1/2/1973
1975-1976	Thomas R. Balaban	Cumberland	1/7/1975
1977-1978	Thomas J. McCormack	Philadelphia	1/4/1977
1978	Clarence M. Myer, Jr.	Lancaster	6/13/1978
1979-1982	W.H. Clay Keen	Cumberland	1/2/1979
1983-2006	Clarence M. Myer, Jr.	Lancaster	1/4/1983
2007-2010	Reizdan Moore	Dauphin	1/2/2007
2011-2022	Clarence M. Myer, Jr.	Lancaster	1/4/2011
2023-	David H. Brogan	Lackawanna	1/3/2023